How can I wean myself off of heat!

UniquelyDivine

Hi Ladies!!

I'm new to this whole thing so bear with me, I have been lurking on LHCF for quite a few months and let me just say that the info you ladies provide is amazing, but overwhelming at times:spinning:. My dilemma is that I am addicted to heat! I have booted my blow dryer but cant seem to part with my beloved flat iron, I BC'ed in August because my hair was horribly damaged. I went from SL to CL and that is right around the time I found this glorious place, my hair has grown back to my shoulders and actually a little past where it was before I cut it but I am now at a standstill, it sheds like crazy and I have found quite a bit of split ends. I am trying to take it 1 step at a time and do away with heat, can any one give me suggestions on how to still get a fairly straight style without cooking my hair everyday?

You could try rollersetting, just search around this forum or on youtube for a tutorial. Or you could just wear a wig, that way you're not manipulation your own hair yet you still have a nice style on.

Are you natural?

Try roller sets, or some curly styles for a while.
Trim those splits and give your hair some serious moisture.
If you realize the heat is damaging your hair, just simply refuse to use it!
try air dry sets too, are you open to braidouts/twistouts?

@ Cherry never thought about that, I have in the past but could never keep it looking good for more than a few days but this seems like a great alternative for me now.

@ Janeemat-Yes Ma'am I am relaxed, I mainly just flat iron the sides when they get those little coo coo burrels but I use my iron to create a flip in my hair and my poor edges are innocent victims.

You may need to change your mind set for the next 6 months to a year and just know that you may NOT always be bone straight. Put your focus on going for healthy hair everyday instead of bone straight hair everyday.

Free your mind, the rest will follow.
:yep: