Hi Ladies, I'm new

CurlyGirl1996

Hi, everyone, I'm basically new to LHCF. I signed up last year, but just paid last month. I am attempting to go natural...but it's not going well. My hair is so dry and very tangled.
I look forward to hearing your suggestions.

Welcome!

I suggest you apply your DC in small sections and make sure your new growth is saturated. Also, puttin a penetrating oil on before you apply the DC will help soften your hair and make detangling easier. I suggest coconut oil.

Oh and keep your new growth from shrinking up, that will help ease the tangles a bit.

Hi Toyia,

Welcome aboard. Here's two books that may help with you transitioning:
"No Lye" by Tulani Kinard and "Going Natural" by Mireille Liong-A-Kong. They have good info on how to manage your hair while growing out your perm. It's been 4 months since my last perm and my new growth is pretty thick right now. Like Msa said it helps to use lots of deep conditioners and leave-in conditioners to make your hair easier to comb through. When I wash my hair I part it into two sections and wash and condition one side at a time. My hair's shoulder length with a few inches of new growth (I'm cutting off my relaxed ends a little bit at a time. I'm not BRAVE enough to chop it all off!) washing it in sections seems easier to avoid tangling. It takes a while at first but it does go faster as you get used to the process. I hope this helps.

Thank you all for your warm welcome and suggestions. I can't wait to put them to use. I downloaded a picture but it is not showing...so how does that work?

I'm excited and have so many questions, but i won't ask them all @ one time.:grin: