Help my hair texture changed!!!!!!!!!

QBOE2001

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie in search of major league help. I just underwent my last round of chemo and unlike most people i did not wind up totally bald however I did lose a large patch in top center of my head (approx. 1 and 1/2" wide and 4" long). Prior to treatment my hair was MBL but I have just cut it to a twa (it was a cause of constant depression seeing the bald spot all the time). My question to you is this...I am 8 weeks post BC and the hair texture of the new growth does not match that of the rest of my hair....it is completely alien to me!!! All of the rest of my hair is course however the new growth seems incredibly fragile and thin. Can anyone recommend any products that will make this hair stronger? I'm open to all suggestions. I can't bear the thought of losing what little hair I have left. Thanks a bunch in advance for any advice you can offer

Welcome! Wishing you Gods speed in your treatment and recovery.
You may need to add some protein to strengthen like an egg treatment or something commercial like Aphogee. Many ladies use henna or cassia to "thicken strands". Henna is not considered a protein. Lighter deep conditioners with whey protein like Elucence extended moisture repair treatment is what I use. The light protein strengthens without making my hair hard.

Welcome!

I hope that you are recovering and quickly on the road back to health!

I've read that many people experience texture changes after chemo, something about the body's response to either the chemicals or the disease they're fighting. Anyway, I think because what happens to our bodies is reflected in our hair, as you get healthier I think you'll see some healthier hair.

In the meantime, I wouldn't do too much to your hair. I think if you used a balanced conditioner like Aubrey Organics GPB it would be good for your hair and wouldn't be too much.