HELP!!!! I think this extreme heat is killing my hair

JBunnie

I live in Atlanta and the temperature has been in the 100s since Friday. I washed and styled my hair on Saturday as I always do. I'm trying to find out what products work for my curls as I am new to wearing them and I'm currently using Kinky Curly products to style my hair. After I washed I applied KCNT, sealed one side with aloe vera and the other side with argan oil, then applied KCCC. I then two strand twisted my hair and bantu knotted them and let them dry overnight into Sunday afternoon. Once I took them out I ran some errands and I started getting some pieces that frizzed and lost detention. It was only a few pieces (mostly on the side I sealed with argan oil) so I put perm rods in my hair to recurl them and slept in them until I went to work Sunday night.

My job was hotter than hot. We had to keep the front doors open and we had 2 fans going in the back. Needless to say my hair got worse while at work. When I got home I noticed that I had the same issue of frizz and loss of detention that I when I first took my hair down, but this time there was no bias, it was all over my head, not on just one side. I put perm rods in my hair again (practically my whole head was covered in them and stayed inside all day. I took the perm rods out on my way to work and drove with the windows up and A/C on. Work is once again hot and again my hair is going to the dogs.

My bantu knot outs have lasted for days without these issues prior to the heat wave (mind you it also hasn't rained here either) Does anyone have any tips/product recommendations on how to combat this?

Last edited:
Get a leave-in for swimmers. Those usually have UV protection. You could also use a heat protectant on your hair as a leave-in. Try to find one that protects against UV rays as well. Sally's sell them.

Is it humid?

I can't have my hair loose when it is too humid, or it will get frizzy.