Help a Sista Out! I Need a Natural Mentor!

Papoose

The Phoenix
I saw the other thread and Anky was overwhelmed with responses. I desperately need a mentor! I've been hiding under braids, kinky twists, weaves and wigs. I currently have 4A/4B natural hair. I think it's about 5-7 inches long. My short term goal is to practice protective styling. I haven't determined any growth goals yet. Any assistance is appreciated. :)

I am still a newbie natural. It's been over a year. I would be glad to be of assistance. What do you need help with the most? I would suggest doing twists because they are a good protective style.

I would be glad to help sista out! (LOL)It's been a little over 2 years for me. check out my old & new albums www.fotki.com/sephus4 pw :seafuss or seafuss.com. What do you need help with the most? I hope my albums help some. Ditto on doing twists because they are a good protective style.

:)

ITA with wearing twists for protective styling. I have been wearing twists for a year now (weekends=twistouts most of the time) and I my hair has grown and retained length. On wash days I recommend u divide the hair into sections, wash & carefully & detangle with tons of conditioner. This has really helped me. After I wash, on my damp parted sections held with butterfly clips, I use unrefined shea butter straight or mixed with some carrier oils like (jojoba, avocado etc) the oils u can find readily at any health food store. From there I twist and let dry and unravel or make smaller twists for a set I wear in the week. If I make bigger twists, I let it dry then unravel and wear a twistout, then I make skinnier twists with my dry hair to show more length.

During the week I just spritz with a recipe I listed in the vendor review section for ACJazz and I conditon wash with Elucence 1x a week as well.

Products that work for me:
*Unrefined shea butter-straight or whipped with some carrier oils
*Elucence shampoo & conditioner (love the conditioner)
*Shower comb