Hair that's wet all day

gn1g

Hair that\'s wet all day

I sometimes use the baggie method with wigs or Phoneyponies. Sometimes I just wear my hair up in a pigtail and because it is thick it remains wet all day. I am wondering is it possible for my hair to mildew, or could this cause some sort of damage. What has been your experience?

Re: Hair that\'s wet all day

Sometimes my hair will still be wet when I get home from work. I just take the ponytail down so that it dries since I'm not a daily washer.

That is a good Question I would like to know the answer to that also.
smile.gif

I think it is okay for your hair to be wet all day. Whenever I wash mine it takes forever to dry out completely. Sometimes 24 hours (NO JOKE!). Plus, I sometimes keep it spayed with my leave-in cond.

I was thinking the same thing, I wantedt to know if it was okay as well, and if anyone has odor problems or possible mildew

i've been doing the baggie method for a couple of years. my hair has never mildewed. sometimes if i don't let it air out though, it smells sour to me, which i hate. so i normally let it air dry after i get home on the day that i wash it.

I actually think it is very good for hair to stay wet in a bun or braid. That means it stays moisturized all the time.

yes yes yes, wet hair can get some straight up funky smellin mold and mildew , just like anything else that is wet with no air...

i drenched my hair for years with leave in, for some reason (i cant explain) using the watery type leave in's as opposed to plain water eliminates the mold/mildew thing....and my hair would stay wet up in the thickness of it tilll the next day , when i would then wet it all up again.

I stopped the soaking now, cause i happened to notice one day while wearing it somewhat dry with just oils/butters that it was more managable and a lot less frizzy/tangled etc. so now i just dampen it.

[ QUOTE ]
NAY007 said: