Hair Stylist Vent

mswright00

:blush:Good Afternoon Ladies,
I am new to the proper way to care for my hair. I beleive that I have been doing a great job on taking care of my ends, washing weekly, and mositurizing daily. Lately, I have been going back and forth with the process of trasitioning and going completely natural. I am about 19 weeks post relaxer right now, but I beleive now is the time to throw in the flag. On sunday I tried to rollerset my hair, and my new growth was not having it.:sad:. I think the better option for me is just to relax my hair about 2 or 3 times a year.
Now, that I have gave you a brief summary. Here is my issue (you let me know if its good or bad). I just gave my hair stylist a call to schedule an hair appointment for tomorrow to get a relaxer:wallbash:. I stated to her that I wanted to get a lye relaxer (because I heard they are better for the hair). She stated that there is really no difference between a lye and no lye relaxer, and they all have sodium hydroante (spelling), and that the problem comes in when women switch back and forth between professional and box relaxers. She asked me have I been keeping heat off of my hair, and I told her yes. She also asked how I was wearing my hair, I told her that I have it up majority of the time (protective styling) and she said that's not good. (WhAt):perplexed. She stated that since I am over 6 to 8 weeks post relaxer I should be pressing my hair out more at the dermarkation line.:blush:. When she stated this is sounded like death to the hair to me.
Ladies please help me in my time of concern. Thanks!