For those who who went natural for awhile and decided to relax again...

What made you make the decision?

I've bee toying with the idea lately, but I'm afraid because I almost have PTSD from the burns I used to get on my scalp from relaxers. The reason I'm even considering it again is because I'm pretty sure more manageable hair would be great for me right now, because I'm a super busy college student.

Any thoughts on this? Relaxers are so permanent, I'm afraid to go back. :sad:

I'm relaxed after going natural twice. The last time I was natural for 15 months. I self relax, sticking to no lye relaxers that don't burn me. I'm paranoid about getting burned. I relaxed because I felt like I had to spend too much time on my hair. If you're a college student, I suggest you wear your hair in single braids that way you don't have to worry about relaxing. Or a nice half wig. Sometimes if you put your hair away, you can make a better decision.

I agree with AmiJay. When I was at university I wore braids quite a bit. If you can put braid extensions in your own hair then that could be an option.

I was natural and relaxed. Worst mistake ever. Now I am transitioning.I have gone through the transition process like 6 times in my life. My fine hair cannot take relaxers. This is it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I cannot believe how much hair I have lost over these stupid relaxers. And I was so careful with how I took care of my hair, what a waste. I am so mad with myself.

People even told me they prefer me with natural hair.

Best,
Almond Eyes

I was natural and texlaxed. Initially, I regretted it and now I'm glad I did it. I decided to go back b/c I was spending too much time working on my hair. I felt that it would be more manageable texlaxed. Now, I can't see myself being natural unless I go back to being a heat trained natural. The only problem with that for me is that I run. *shrugs*