Flatirons -- I Don't Get it ...

Chichi

Flatirons -- I Don\'t Get it ...

Could someone help me out here...

Time and time again, I read about a someone using a flatiron
shocked.gif
. I thought that intense heat was bad for the hair but folks somehow describe using a flatiron as positive.

So I guess that I am confused
confused.gif
perplexed.gif
are flatirons good for your hair?
do they use lots of heat?
are they good only occasionally?

Any help woud be appreciated as I have never used one before...

Thanks,
Chichi
bdance.gif

Re: Flatirons -- I Don\'t Get it ...

Intense heat is bad for hair, regardless as to the method. If you have/buy a flat iron with regulated temperature settings it is easier to turn the heat up and down. With heat less is more.
smile.gif

IMHO, it is okay to use heat once per week, provided your hair is in good condition (especially the ends). You must ALWAYS use a good thermal protector with good regular conditionings. In other words if you take care of your hair in a healthy manor a little heat won't hurt (generally speaking).

With moderate use it is o.k.
up.gif

I use a ceramic flat iron which is supposed to be non damaging. I only use it once weekly though!

ceramic flat irons are reported to be non-damaging or much less damaging than regular Flat Irons. Ceramic flat Irons supposedly seal in moisture.

I agree that moderate use is ok. I have a ceramic flat iron. I use it about once a month (sometimes less than that). It hasn't harmed my hair.

With proper conditioning and usage, and care, any heat used in moderation should not cause a problem. It's the over use of heat (excessive temperatures, frequent usage, not using it on clean hair only...) that causes damage.