First Time Stretching!!! NEED YALL HELP!

TinkaBella

Hello LHCF!

I need yall help, this is my first time stretching and I usually get a perm every four weeks. Every four weeks isn't working and I know I can go longer because I can still lay down my edges. I just have a few questions I would like to ask and any advice is good advice and will be taken into consideration.

1. How long do you recommend I wait, does it depend on new growth length?
  2. Should I wash my hair more often since I'm stretching?
  3. What kind of products will help with my stretching?
  4. What are signs I should look for when my hair is telling me I need to get a perm?
  5. What are some protective styles i can wear with neck length hair and does wrapping count as a protective style?
  6. What will help best with detangling?
  7. Should I get my ends trimmed when its time for me to get the perm?
  8. How do you prepoo and cowash, does this help?
  9. Does stretching really help?
  10. What else do you recommend I should do?
I would like to thank you yall in advance for answering my questions and your suggestions! :grin:

See my answers below:

Hello LHCF!

I need yall help, this is my first time stretching and I usually get a perm every four weeks. Every four weeks isn't working and I know I can go longer because I can still lay down my edges. I just have a few questions I would like to ask and any advice is good advice and will be taken into consideration.

1. How long do you recommend I wait, does it depend on new growth length? Since you are used to relaxing every 4 weeks, I think you may want to take it slowly and stretch to 6 weeks. Then you can try 8 weeks, and so on; you are going to have to learn how to handle the NG at 6 weeks before you can handle it at 8 weeks, 10 weeks, etc.