First time doing 2 strand twists

Mercie

I did 2 strand twists on my mother's hair. I don't really like the result because, I wasn't able to smooth the roots. I started off doing the twists on damp moisturized hair but, it quickly dried up when I was halfway done. Could I please have advice on what I can do for next time.

I also try to do a part/bang but there was too much shrinkage going on. Any ideas on how I can style it for next time?

(I am not too good at parting, lol)

Attachments

• P1060774.jpg
    P1060774.jpg
    97.4 KB · Views: 32
  • P1060775.jpg
    P1060775.jpg
    100 KB · Views: 36
  • P1060776.jpg
    P1060776.jpg
    98 KB · Views: 35
  • P1060777.jpg
    P1060777.jpg
    99.2 KB · Views: 28
I think you did a pretty decent job! Thanks for sharing!

The only things I can suggest are, if you want a more uniform look, as far as parting, you might section the hair, via small ponytails before you start twisting. For example, when I twist my daughter's hair, I sometimes part it down the middle and from ear to ear, putting the hair into four ponytails. When I get to the twisting, I take one of the ponytails out and begin parting it into smaller sections, using some sort of hair clip to keep the remaining hair out of the way. To get the twists more taut so that the roots look a lil' neater, you can twist the two individual pieces of hair in opposite directions before you start twisting them around each other. Hope that makes sense.

Oh, and if the hair begins to dry, you can give it a light spritzing of water as you go along.

ETA: I also recommend ORS Lock n' Twist gel for two strand twists. It is not drying, flaky and gives a nice hold without being crispy! I think it might help smooth the roots too, but be careful not to use too much! I put a little on each section of hair, comb through and then start twisting!

HTH!!

Practice makes perfect. Your first try was great.

Next time: