Does this make sense? Disclaimer - I'm a newbie:)

Nix08

Relaxed, 4B
The way I understand it if you are going to be using heat you shouldn't use oils as the heat will 'burn' the oils and thus your hair. If that is correct, does Moroccan or Sally's argan oil work because argan oil has a very high smoke point (and is a heat protectant itself) Or is it because of the silicone in the product?
My main question is, may I use whatever oils I want (specifically shea butter) but then put on a heat serum over top when I plan to use heat?

No. I use heat for my pre-poo of olive and coconut oil. Heat + Oils don't burn your hair. High heat period will "burn" your hair. Not actually burn, but the hair shaft will form bubbles after coming to a boil since whatever moisture inside your hair shaft will be boiling with the application of extremely high heat. The bubbles will cause your hair to break. You can use whatever oils you want and whatever serum you want, just don't use an extremely high temperature. EllePixie had a great post a while back about what temperatures do what to the hair shaft, and I think she got it from the natural hair haven.

I'm not sure what benefits you will gain by using oil & then applying heat. The less product used during your heat session.. (flat iron?) the better.
A bit of oil afterwards will give some shine....but even here I tread lightly because I have uber fine hair. HTH

Oils + Indirect heat (e.g. in a DC) isn't a problem.

Oils + Direct Heat (flat irons, blow dryers) is a no no.

A heat protectant will be silicone-based and may have Silk Amino acids or Hydrolyzed Silk or Ethyl Esters of Silk. I do/would not use One n Only Argan Oil (very similar to Moroccan Oil) as a heat protectant.

Instead you can try Chi Silk Infusion, Biosilk Silk Therapy or any of the products on this page: Heat Protection