Caution for the Wig Wearers

NaturalJoy

Wig Support Thread

Just wanted to share this as a cautionary measure. I have been wearing a wig for a few months. I started b/c I had a broken piece in my crown from a weave that was WAAAAAAY too tight. In any event, I have been taking GREAT care of my hair under the wig, have been conditioning it well (including a leave-in everyday).

I have been experiencing great GROWTH for the most part, however I noticed that there was increased breakage around the already broken part of the crown (it was really weird b/c the broken part was grwoing out nicely but pieces around it begag to break). I knew it was my products b/c I wasn't using anything new so I kept searching for answers. I thought hmm... it must be my stress point (which it is) but there was no stress there.

After much trouble shooting I learned that moist hair under a wig can cause breakage, premature balding and/or the growth of a fungus. I think one of these may be the culprit here as I oil and or mist the spot w/ a leave in and massage it every morning when I wake up. I do this first thing then get in the shower, get dressed then put my wig on berfore leaving the house in the morning. Out of hindsight I can see how this would be common sense, but I guess I just never paid attention or thought that moisturizer in that one little area could cause damage. The rest of my hair is florishing though!

In the end, I say all this to say that wig wearers please do your oiling and conditioning in the evenings. By all means do NOT put moist hair under a wig not even the slightest bit. Ok, maybe that was a little exaggerated, but you get the message.

Happy Hair Growing
NaturalJoy