Can you french braid and cornrow your own hair?

yes. this hasnt ever proved to be a problem for me. Dont know when I learned just seemed to have always known how.

I can french braid my own hair very well. I always get compliments, and friends are usually really surprised. When they aren't black, they're also sometimes surprised that a black women would rock a french braid, likes them, that one can be done to my hair, etc.

I can corn row my hair in one or two braids and it looks fine. I am not good at cornrowing even someone else's hair, so I wouldn't expect to be able to do my own fantastically. I can actually do my own better than others' because I'm afraid of pulling on their hair.

I just learned how to cornrow this summer...they aren't super neat yet, but hey, im in no rush, I know if I practice more, they will get there.

I can't do it! I'm dying to learn how! Can someone teach me?:blush:
Well, do you know how to french braid or corn row period, like on others? That's the first step.

When I was between 8-10 I just figured out french braiding on my own by thinking about how it had to be done. It's like a plait, but you just make it stick to your head by gathering pieces of hair as you go down. To center it you start in the middle of wherever you want the braid and grab a chunk of hair, section it in 3 pieces, cross each once to start the braid, then each time you cross after that, pull a piece of hair from the sides. You start in the middle so there is hair on the sides to pull. At first you may be sloppy, but it's not too difficult. After a while once you get the hang of pulling hair from the sides to be even and neat when it enters the braid, you can get it to be really pretty, do patterns, etc.

I practiced on my own head often because I couldn't practice on anyone else, and that's how I mastered it.

When my hair was an inch or two longer, I used to make a kind of side french braid that went diagonally across my head.