Can steaming benefit braids under weave?

ZapMami

Just a question. I've been weaving up for about 5 months. My hair is growing like crazy but I am not retaining any growth. I get about 1 -2 inches every 3 months but have to cut off that much because of the dryness.A few years back I tried weaves and was successful my hair was silky and soft every time I took down my hair....I can't remember what I was using on my hair but I thought it was a mix of wild growth oil and African Braid spray and for some reason now it doesn't work. I keep trying to moisturize my hair using applicator bottles and different leave ins and oils but my hair is still dry and brittle when I take weave out. I was going to invest in steamer...I noticed some people say with crochet braids they keep there own hair moist with steamer so I'm thinking the same would be true with steamer. Has anyone had any luck with steaming hair while wearing weave?

I'm interested in knowing the same thing! I recently took out my crotchet braids and am ready for a weave. I just decided to purchase a steamer and have been looking up how to best moisturize my hair under the weave.

OP, EbonyCPrincess has several YT videos on how to take care of your hair while wearing a sew in etc. She has healthy hair practices.

I know that doesn't answer your question, but it may help with getting moisture to your braided hair.

Sent from my Speak & Spell using LHCF

I steamed weekly while in a weave. Dilute your conditioner with water in a applicator bottle. Focus on your braids but don't forget the weave. Curly, wavy, kinky curly and other textures really benefits from the added moisture.

Constant steaming really infuses your hair with moisture. However it is no replacement for a water based leave in. Find the right one that works for your hair. My take down was easier and my hair shed less due to my steamer use

By steaming you don't worry about mildew or the braids not drying?