Can someone explain hair textures (4A, 3c, etc.)?

tash3278

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie and just wanted to get a better idea of what the hair textures actually are. Also, due to my recent hair trauma (bad perm causing my bra-strap length hair to shed from the root dramatically), I am considering going natural and wanted the smoothest transition ever (hence why I was curious about the definitions of the hair textures). Can anyone help?

Thanks!!

There is also the LOIS hair typing system, which is arguably more helpful because it takes into account hair pattern / strand thickness / and hair texture.

Under LOIS I am OS / fine / spongy, where as under Andre's system I am "4B"

Lys

Alos hair type and texture are not interchangable. I do like the way the LOIS system works because it takes into account hair type/texture/thickness. Andres System seems to only describe curl pattern. Im a cottony 3c texture...but there are others who have the same 3c curl pattern and have silkier hair.

This is a bit confusing to me especially for black hair. I have a perm; is this based on permed hair or natural (the new growth)? :perplexed

I'll never understand the LOIS system. LOL.

I just try to read as much as I can from different sites and LHCF (though I'm more confused than before).

But, I've been told (and by looking at hair pics), I'm a wiry/coarse 4a/b. At least, I THINK. But how can one be a 4a/B, if the "b" has NO curl definition (or VERY little), and the person's hair has a curl when wet/loaded with product? :spinning:

Last edited:
I'll never understand the LOIS system. LOL.

I just try to read as much as I can from different sites and LHCF (though I'm more confused than before).

But, I've been told (and by looking at hair pics), I'm a wiry/coarse 4a/b. At least, I THINK. But how can one be a 4a/B, if the "b" has NO curl definition (or VERY little), and the person's hair has a curl when wet/loaded with product? :spinning: