Braids & Breakage

SincerelyJouet

So help! I haven't been around in the forums for a while and I have been transitioning since August 2010. I recently had the box braids for the past 3 months and my hair has broken off so much! Is that natural? I know I will be experiencing a lot of breakage but sheesh! I am kind of scared to even get the box braids anymore because it appears that my edges look weaker. NO I didn't scratch cause I heard that scratching will definitely tear your edges up. I almost fainted when I saw how much hair broke off. =/

What are the best braiding styles when transitioning?

How tight were they? The nape and hairline is normally the most fragile point for hair. I do my own now because braiders braid too tight. If you can't turn your neck back and forth without pain it's too tight. You also have to take care of your hair under braids. www.growafrohairlong.com is a great resource for a braid regimen.

No, they weren't really tight but I think it may have had something to do with my nutrition. Thanks so much for the link! =)

How were you taking care of your hair? Were you washing and moisturizing regularly? I'm sorry to hear about the breakage. Dealing with multiple textures is difficult. I transitioned with braids as well several years ago, so I understand.

ETA: If you don't mind sharing, what was happening nutrition-wise?

I've come to the conclusion that my hair doesn't like to be braided :nono: I had very loose cane rows put in and my edges still suffered :perplexed The next time I had the braids started behind my ear, it now looks like my edges :ohwell:

My hair doesn't like canerows either. I had them in for one week. They were small, but I did them myself, nice and loose, and I still had an unreasonable amount of breakage :(