Before LHCF.....

Loving

Did you use protection (such as vaseline or products like Mizani Honey Shied) to protect your relaxed hair when getting a touch up? If you didn't, was your hair damaged?

I am a newbie relaxer and I am getting overwhelmed with all the info here. I am due for a touchup in a few weeks (my first one) and am not sure what to do. Do I protect or not?

I am scared that my stylist will think I am being extra fussy with all these new products that I currently dont see being used at the salon when ladies touch up their hair.

First of all, don't you DARE worry about what that stylist thinks! It is your hair, on your head, and you do what you need to do to take precaution!

To answer your question, yes, I always based my head, either with vaseline or a vaseline type product specially "made" as a relaxer prep. I'd surround my hairline and base the entire head of hair. I know that there is a thread from earlier this year about whether folks base or not, and there was a pretty good split from the ladies.

I would advise you use a base rather than not. It helps protect your skin and scalp against abrasions especially when sensitive. Also, some relaxers are so harsh that you can have cuts and sores if you decided against using a protective base even when the label claims to be "mild". Some people don't use them but since you're unsure, it's better to be safe than sorry.

I agree with the poster above, disregard what your stylist may or may not think. You're paying him or her to handle your hair, not the other way around.

Better safe than sorry like the others ladies have said. I personally did not base my hair (nor did my stylist) when relaxing:blush:. I had the occasional chemical burn but really accepted it as normal:spinning:. I didn't know any better.

I did everything wrong, yet my hair thrived. I think what helped was the ORS hair line and the availability of Dom. salons around me.:ohwell: