Are there any naturals on a no oil or minimal oil routine?

sparkle25

Hello

Having troubles finding things for my hair with no oil or minimal oil. My hair hates oils and protein too. Every product for curly heads seems to have both. I dont really care about styling products because i want to get my hair to thrive before i start styling it. Im new at this whole healthy hair thing, but i have only had about 3 perms in my 26 years, so no damage from chemicals but i think my hair is semi damaged from being neglected. I just didnt know how to care for it. Now i am doing things the right way and my hair is much better than before and doesnt break hardly at all, but its dry & its not thriving because it doesnt like oils. Is anyone else on a no oil, minimal oil routine? Any advice is greatly appreciated. I asked a similar question yesterday, but i didnt get very many response. TIA

I saw your thread from yesterday. I wish I could help, but my hair loves both oils and protein so I'm no good to you. msa mentioned that maybe you're undermoisturized, what are you currently using? You may need to get creative and make your own products, maybe using honey, glycerin, things like that. Everything I was going to mention is protein based!!!! Arggh! Hopefully some pros will chime in, but what is your current routine? Oh, and coconut oil can make hair hard. If the temps not high enough, my hair gets hard because the oil solidifies. It's a definite :nono: for me in the winter.

I mostly use aloe juice, glycerine and castor oil on my hair. I like castor because it's a humectant. I do use conditioners that contain oil, though. Basically, the majority of my moisture regiment comes from water based products, because oil just kinda sits on my hair- even when I apply on wet hair. I also sometimes use smooth-n- shine curl activator gel. It is oil free, full of humectants, and is a styler as well as a moisturizer. It does have wheat protein, and panthenol. Good Luck!