Any advice for a newbie?

YNOBE

Hey ladies, I am new to the site (just joined yesterday). So far I have read some great and informative post. The stories and pics have really motivated me. I have been wearing a short cut for the past two years and now I'm ready to grow it out. My goal is APL, right now it reaches my ear. I've been growing it since Feb and I've already come along way considering it was shaved in a pixie cut style. A good friend recommended I join the site, she has been a member for years and her hair growth journey has really paid off. I'm still getting a feel for this site, hopefully I'll be able to post some pics soon. Any advice you ladies have for me on products, styling, etc. would be greatly appreciated! :yep:

:welcome2:

I don't really have any advice. Just take it slow and do your research. Happy hair growing!

I will tell you what worked for me and why I never turned into a PJ or got overwhelmed by the endless info on the forum from every angle. I read a book on good haircare. (We used to have a list of recommended books but I can't find the page now; maybe it's gone. But the book I picked randomly that helped me get the basics was Cathy Howse's book. I will warn you, it needs a lot of editing/proofreading but it helped me know what I need.

Alternatively, I'm sure there's a blog that can give you the same basics so you know what it take to grow healthy hair. Then the forum becomes a great reference to iron out the details you still have questions about...and a great support for your hair growing journey.

Our dear Msa did try to put a lot of info in one thread for newbies (I wish it were a sticky so it'd not get buried :ohwell: ). I will try to find it or maybe she can save me the trouble if she sees this and give the link to it.

ETA: I found Msa's thread: http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=389082

Last edited: