Another New Member - LHCF

luxe.li.

Hello LHCF!

I'm
Li and I'm new to the board. I decided to join LHCF today because today is the first step to my RECORDED hair care journey. I've been transitioning for 6 months now and I have about 2.5 to 4 inches of new growth. Today I cut the bulk of my hair off to make my transitioning easier.

My hair was at a length where protective styles
weren't cutting it. It was too short for buns, and too uneven for braid outs, bantu knots, and twist outs. Plus the twists and braids while wet were snapping my hair, and then they were too slippery to stay in. I do not own a heat cap or a dryer to sit under so I have to make do with what I have. When I tried wet twisting and setting with rollers, the next day my hair exploded into a tangled mess of an afro. These protective styles were not doing the job for me.

I keep my hair straight while transitioning, but for the past 6 months I haven't been doing it in the healthiest way. Now I have a small hair regimen, though I have had yet to write it down or perfect it.

This is my introduction to the board, I will be back with pictures, products that I use, and questions!!!

I'm excited though, in the meantime any suggestions you guys might want to give me, feel free to go right ahead and leave it on the post!!

Thanks!:drunk:

Welcome to the board!
There is a whole thread on transitioning, go check it out!

HHG

Welcome!

Here's a good place to start:
http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=255441

You said your hair was too uneven for "out" styles...my hair is all different lengths from nape to neck to shoulder and out styles tend to work for me because of shrinkage. If my hair were straight then it would look uneven. Anyway, I've found that when doing an out style it's best to start on damp, moisturized hair. That leads to less breakage because it's not too wet (fragile) and not too dry (and snappable).