Another introduction

ProseChild

Hello ladies! I'm Prosechild, and I'm a newbie here. I've been searching the posts for the past week, in hopes of solving a major shedding problem.

I was natural for about 10 months, and relaxed my hair in April. I'm not one to visit salons, so I got the recommendation from a friend. Well, the stylist was okay...she cut my hair in layers so that wasn't too complicated. But when I washed it myself, it was shedding reallly badly. I thought that maybe my hair was still getting used to being relaxed, but it kept shedding.

So finally in around May I started using Queen Helene Unscented Garlic Shampoo. While it was still less shedding than I had been experiencing, it was still pretty bad. On the sides, if I ran my fingers through or combed while wet, several hairs would come out at once - almost a clump.
shocked.gif
My hair was also pretty dry, with lots of tangles that took out more hair when I combed them. I followed up with Queen Helene Cholesterol Conditioner under the dryer for 30 min. I only used heat about twice a month, instead doing protective styles.

Well one night I was worrying about it so much that I couldn't sleep. I came here and searched and searched...then I found the "What Have I Done?" thread. Then I finally realized that just b/c something says it works, doesn't mean it'll work for me.
frown.gif
Apparently my hair does NOT like Affirm relaxer; I've been a Motions user for years, I didn't even think to ask her what relaxer she was using. *smh*

I was so mad at myself for continuing to use a product that didn't work, and watching all my hair rinse down the drain. I bought Creme of Nature Detangling Shampoo and Motions CPR and used those. I also used the Motions At-Home conditioner. I'm happy to say that almost no hair came out!!
grin.gif
There was still some hair that shed though.