All these henna threads...and i still don't know what to do!!

JerriBlank

I feel so overwhelmed by the henna threads!
They have a ton of information(which is a good thing),but it seems like most of the rules don't apply to me and what i'm going for.I have sandy brown hair,and i do not want to darken my hair with the henna because it would not match me at all.

I would love to get the soft reddish tones that i have been reading so much about but i don't know exactly to do.I want it to condition my hair,and i also want that shine and strength.

Sooooo,this is what it is:i got some Afshan Mehndi henna(that i was straight suckered into buying:spinning:)
However,i do want to try it.Where the heck do i start? I'm not expecting a gazillion responses,a girl just needs some help on this before i rupture a nerve in my head trying to go through those 50 page threads:lachen:
Thanks y'all!

Last edited:
I am fairly new to Henna as well and felt the same way as you when I started. It seemed that everyone added all of these really exotic ingredients and I was just like huh?:look: I didn't even know what pectin or hibiscus powder was! Well, I keep my mix really simple. Last week I used Jamila henna which is very smooth (I liked it a lot). I put in some amla powder, coconut milk and avocado oil and allowed it to sit for about 24 hours for dye release. I applied and then let it sit some more for about 24 hours. My hair is very dark so I don't think that I would add the amla (tends to darken the hair) if I were you but just do a very simple mix! If your hair is dry like mine, the avocado oil and coconut milk made a big difference. My hair wasn't dry AT ALL and it usually feels like sand after I henna to the point where I have to do a massive dc after. I hope this helps!