After 25 years as a relaxed head...

marta9227

I've decided to transition. Last relaxer was October. I'm not planning a big chop, I think I'll do it Nina Pruitt style. Pray for me y'all I've been relaxed most of my life!

Sent from my evo 3d y'all!

Good luck :grin:. I had been relaxing for 25 years before I decided to transition to natural. Best decision I ever made :yep:.

OP I am in the same shoes as you. I have been relaxing for years and though it has been working for me I just can't stand the hassle. I mean, I stretch not only because it is better for the hair but also because I dread going to the salon.
Last time I went the stylist refused to apply vaseline or anything to my scalp.
Also, I hate the lack of volume in freshly permed hair. I have to wait 2 months post perm to finally look normal lol. I would like to transition and wear wigs in the mean time. Can't wait to be free from relaxers!

no offence to people that do relax, it is whatever works for you.

Shay72 how long have/did you transition for? Did you ultimately do a BC or did you just slowly cut? Any advice? Sorry about all the questions lol!

marta9227
I transitioned for 1 year then bc'd. When transitioning the best styles for me were buns, twistouts, and flexirod sets. Once I decided to transition I no longer used direct heat bc I wanted to see my true texture. Not suggesting that you do any of those things but they worked for me.

I've decided to transition. Last relaxer was October. I'm not planning a big chop, I think I'll do it Nina Pruitt style. Pray for me y'all I've been relaxed most of my life!

I'm in the same situation as you. My last relaxer was mid October and I have decided to transition. I refuse to Big Chop so I will be long term transitioning for AT LEAST 18 months. As of today I am 10 weeks post... Good luck to us all.