Where to start

bigtina74

I've lurked on this site for a couple of years. I usually just check the entertainment forums because I get so utterly confused in the hair forum

I've decided to take better care of my hair, I'm not really worried about acheiving a length right now, I just want healthier hair.

I've tried to glean as much information as possible from the numerous threads, but my head is spinning.

SO I would appreciate someone telling me a good vitamin, shampoo and conditioner to start with and the absolute DO NOT's I should know about

I'm thinking that my hair is a 3c/4a type mix, but I'm not sure

I'm no master at all, and i'm still learning. But what I've gained from these forums is that you need to keep it simple and have the basics.

Shampoo: good shampoo that has no ingredients with 'con' at the end should do find. Somethings that's moisturizing as well.
Conditioner: You should have both deep moisture/protein conditioner and a basic $1 conditioner.
Moisturizer: Anything with a water base, or glycerin mix; and no mineral oil/petroleum/patrutum due to them causing build up.
Oil: To seal your ends with, use as prepoo, scalp massage, etc.
Vitamins: Hair,Skin, and Nails vitamins are a big rave, or your usual multivitamin.

I think that's it, because like I said I'm pretty simple and that's all I think someone should need unless there's a specific problem occuring. HTH :D

I'm a newbie but one of the things I've learned is that it is okay to try a few things. Meaning if you chose a moisturizing shampoo and it doesn't do that then you need to move on. You gotta figure out what works for your hair. A simple regi is great bc I know for me if its too complicated or requires too much time I won't do it.

I've lurked on this site for a couple of years. I usually just check the entertainment forums because I get so utterly confused in the hair forum