What's the purpose of Henna?

lunabelle

Forgive me if this has been asked or discussed before but I'm a newbie:grin:. I'm thinking that henna is some sort of hair dye but does it have any other benefits besides coloring?

Forgive me if this has been asked or discussed before but I'm a newbie:grin:. I'm thinking that henna is some sort of hair dye but does it have any other benefits besides coloring?

Henna is a natural product; a dried leaf that is crushed to make a powder.

It conditions, strengthens and colors the hair. Henna produces a red color when applied to the hair. It is permanent and is safe to use on chemically-treated hair as well as natural hair. HTH.

Read the Henna thread located in the Stickies section called, Do Y'all Henna?

Welcome and Enjoy! :grin:

Henna is a natural product; a dried leaf that is crushed to make a powder.

It conditions, strengthens and colors the hair. Henna produces a red color when applied to the hair. It is permanent and is safe to use on chemically-treated hair as well as natural hair. HTH.

Read the Henna thread located in the Stickies section called, Do Y'all Henna?

Welcome and Enjoy! :grin:

I agree. That's what I've always thought it was, but now I'm thinking it's a protein treatment?!? :perplexed

January Noir you said it produces a red color when applied to the hair, so henna only comes in one color or did i read this wrong? :wacky:

January Noir you said it produces a red color when applied to the hair, so henna only comes in one color or did i read this wrong? :wacky:

Yes, natural henna (without any other additives) produces a red color.

There are brands out on the market that can produce other colors, but it has been altered to do that.

If you want a darker color, henna must be combined with INDIGO. You can apply indigo over already henna'd hair to produce jet black hair OR mixed together with henna to produce a rich brown color.