What causes underprocessing?

GeorginaSparks

Well, i relaxed yesterday. I smoothed with my hands only because i was scared a comb would break my hair. And i airdried. Were those the 2 culprits? How many weeks should i wait before doing a corrective on those areas? :ohwell: Also, i did a protein treatment during my last wash which was 4 days before.

Hi :wave:

I am no expert but since none has replied I will try and give some advice.....underprocessing is not leaving the relaxer in your hair long enough. You should wait at least 6 weeks before doing a corrective. I have done a corrective on my hair and it came out great. Hopefully someone with more experience will come in and give you more advice.

Sweetcoco

Thanks for your reply :D I left it in for 15 minutes!! Maybe i need to switch up relaxers :-/ Hmm...wont that underprocessed areas start breaking before 6 weeks?

I will say you didn't leave it on long enough. I have to leave mine in for the maximum time allowed. I think that's 25 min.? I have 3c hair that is resistant. I always have an issue with underprocessing when I do it myself. I have noticed that when I go to the salon, they really take their time and work that relaxer in whereas I get nervous and start rushing. When I relax this week, I am going to use LondonDiva's method and do it a section at a time (front and back). I like bone straight hair (even though I know that's a no no) and this will allow me to do that. I always have a section on the right side of my head that stays wavy unless I work that stuff through good. Good luck!

Hmm...i have fine hair and i went past the maximum time. And the maximum time for coarse hair was 18 minutes......Maybe i'll try that next time. Thanks!

What relaxer strength did you use? No lye or lye?

Did you clarify the wash before? The protein step leading up to the relaxer does reduce your hair's porosity, so that may have also slowed your processing time.

Were you a little heavy with the base?