Twist Help Needed

katote

Newbie here and I need some help.

Everytime I try to twist my hair, it never comes out looking good, and I have to take them out. My hair is natural, and I have approx 9" of fine 4A hair.

Any suggestions on achieving half way decent twists?

How do you want them to look vs. how they turn out?

Here is how I keep my twists looking pretty good:
I usually do thlem dry--but twisting when wet makes them lay very well

Twist in the direction you want them to lay

Keep the same 2 sections of hair twisting for the entire length of the twist

Use a butter or oil on each section of hair b/f twisting

Sometimes after I twist a few I use a click clack to keep them laying right

Try giving them a light spritz when done and then tying them down

I nice warm shower always brings life back to mine after having them tied up at night

ayoung1981 said:
How do you want them to look vs. how they turn out?

Here is how I keep my twists looking pretty good:
I usually do thlem dry--but twisting when wet makes them lay very well

Twist in the direction you want them to lay

Keep the same 2 sections of hair twisting for the entire length of the twist

Use a butter or oil on each section of hair b/f twisting

Sometimes after I twist a few I use a click clack to keep them laying right

Try giving them a light spritz when done and then tying them down

I nice warm shower always brings life back to mine after having them tied up at night

I will have to try the click clacks. My twist usually show too much scalp, and being that my hair is fine, it does not look nice and thick like some of the albums I view.

Also wanted to add that a way to keep to much scalp from showing is to do your twists in 'brick layers. Don't have them in perfect layers--but have each layer off set a tad. *hope I explained that well*:grin:

katote said: