Transitioners I NEED SOME HELP

Nanyanika

Tell me what i'm letting myself it for!!!
I have to transition to get rid of multiple textures on head which has lead to upper shaft demarcation damage. What can i expect during transitioning?What is it like dealing with different textures? what products did you find helpful? can i expect serious breakage?how did you style your hair? did you use heat? any advice would be helpful, because i'm new to this and very scared.

hi den1 :wave:,
for me it is not hard dealing with the two textures, my natural hair is pretty wavy and it usually just lays down. i think what helps me is greasing my scalp :p i know i said it "GREASE"!!! it keeps my hair from breaking at the demarcation line by keeping my hair moist and easy to comb. no, you dont have to have serious breakage, as a matter of fact im not breaking as much as when i first had my relaxer put in. i think this has alot to do with the oil factor... if you dont like grease, try something like profectiv its a medium moisturizer. i use there healthy ends to comb my hair so breakage wont occur. i use heat every 2 weeks cuz thats when i wash my hair. i wet wrap it with john frieda's frizz ease xtra strength serum and rusk's sensories smoother leave-in conditioner. then i sit under the dryer for thirty minutes to forty-five to stop the drippies and partially dry it. the rest of the time i let it airdry under my satin scarf. i wear my hair down 2 times out of the week and the rest of the time its wrapped.
- to tame your new growth try sylver's scarf method. also most people dont comb their new growth until the next time they wash their hair
- the most important fact in transitioning is MOISTURE!!!!
- try to keep your products simple.

Last edited:
for me its not that big of a deal because I keep my hair braided up. I am approaching my one year transition anniversary and I will have been in braids most of the time. I find braids are great to ive your hair a break and just let it grow.