Torn between relaxing or continuing my transition....

mwhitin1

Hey ladies.....to start I want to say that I know that this is a decision I will ultimately make on my own, but I feel better knowing others' opinions that have been in my position.
I haven't had a relaxer in 9 months and before that I hadn't had one in 10 months. I am great at stretching relaxers and I love my natural hair but around 9 and 10 mnths post-relaxer I always desire a straight look. I'm torn because I really want a head full of natural hair, but I also love the straight look. I don't know what to do....any opinons will inspire me.

I like staright hair too. I have been wearing my hair mostly straight for the past 2 months. I stopped getting relaxers b/c I was seeing damage from them. I also wanted to stop depending on relaxers for maintaining my hair. My hair is much thicker and healthier now. If you didn't have a problem with relaxers then fine. But getting a relaxer because you like straight hair then there are plenty of people that wear their naturala hair straighten. Also you don't have to cut all your hair off. You can do a long transition. I am.

I SAY, no relaxer, like some one said you can always flat iron. but when u relax thats a permenant change... just thnk about whats best for your hair.... cuz i only been on this natural journey since Aug 09, and i know i will never relax my hair again.

I don't think you should relax.
If you want a straight look, just invest in a good flat iron. Relaxer is not the only way to get straight hair.

I know how you feel. It's been eight months since my last relaxer and today was the first time I thought about relaxing. I, too miss straight hair. Though I have to say, my hair has not been this thick and healthy in a long time. I'm also getting good at the whole moisturize, seal and bun thing.