Stop doing twist/braid outs or bantu knots because of dry ends?

yodie

Has this happened to anyone?

Came from the salon yesterday and as I suspected, my ends were very dry. Seems my hair was very dry.

I love my twist outs, but I'm afraid it's drying my ends something awful. Anyone have this problem, apply oil to their ends and still wear this style?

Is it best to continue wearing this style and applying castor oil to ends or is this style just too damaging? Best thing about it is that I don't have to comb my hair.

i never have a problem with dryness...and i put castor oil on my ends. i only have a problem with dryness when i do not re-twist for days on end.

I give twistouts up a few months ago. My ends looked so mangled I thought they were all split. A lot of them were split, but others were just really dry, crinkley and scraggly. I've been keeping a straight style for the last two months or so and it does seem better for my hair, overall.

Crazy coinkidink...I have two day old flat-twists in my hair right now for a twistout, but this post made me remember those horrible ends :sad:.
I'm off to flatiron!! Thanks for reminding me :yep:

Maybe you could alternate regularly between twistouts and say, rollersets. I was in CA when I started wearing twistouts regularly back in January, and the air there was soooo dry. I know my problem was from not having the right mix of products to keep my hair moisturized from the dry air outside to the heat inside. So I kept trimming and trimming until I figured out the twistouts were not my friend.

So, all that to say, twistouts are a great choice with the right climate and products. Protecting the ends would be best, though. HTH

I give twistouts up a few months ago. My ends looked so mangled I thought they were all split. A lot of them were split, but others were just really dry, crinkley and scraggly. I've been keeping a straight style for the last two months or so and it does seem better for my hair, overall.