Rollersetting Question

• Thread starter Thread starter Tee
  • Start date Start date
T

Tee

So, I'm going to give this roller setting thing a serious try. Now, for my question. Is it better to use pins or clips to secure the rollers? What do you use? And is it necessary to use end papers?

Before coming to this board, I could never get my hair to set properly. But I read a post about flexi rods. They are called super rods where i live. I tried them once and become hooked because you do not have to use pins or clips. I use them for curly sets and i gotten my whole family hooked on them. My curly set last about 4-5 days.

Hi Tee!

I started with the covers that match the magnetic rollars (smooth rollars with holes). Then after a few months I graduated up to using the silver clips that are used in Dominican salons. I much prefer these because it eliminates that 'kink' or bump mark that rollar covers leave when removed from dried hair.

I don't believe end papers are necessary at all. A few use them. Definitely do a search for Amillion's brilliant post step by step guide on rollarsetting. Its what gave me that light bulb moment from
nuts.gif
to
trampoline.gif
it makes sense!!

Like BRH, I too used the covers that came with the magnetic rollers. I learned that if u use the clips instead of the "covers", then u'll really speed up your drying time (the warm heat can get directly to your hair). Also, I use those large jumbo rollers that are larger than a fist...the clips hold those large jumbo rollers in place really nicely.
smile.gif

Yrs ago I used to use "pins" with "mesh" rollers (I think that's what they're called... it's a wire roller with a netting cover, and brush bristles in the center core). Anywho, the pins used to cause "major" breakage to my strands...sliding them through the hair & roller, then back out again.
mad.gif

For years I used the snap ons...but the last 2 months I've been using just the long silve clips. I don't use end papers.

[ QUOTE ]