Newbie- Introducing myself and question

lexiwiththecurls

I am a newbie to this forum. I wanted to say Hello to everyone. I have actually been a lurker off and on for years and recently decided to join. I actually put my friend on to this website when I didnt frequent it that much. She became obsessed and would call me everyday with new tips and tricks she learned on this site. I decided to one day go through alot of the post and I really enjoyed it and learned alot. I plan to learn through this site and get to MBL in its straightened state and BSL in its natural state. Thanks for all the help.
A little about my hair- I have been natural for 7 years. I used to straighten ALOT..like the majority of the year. I haven't gotten my hair straightened since Dec 08 which is a looonnggg time for me. I get my hair colored from time to time. I'm trying to get into the no-poo thing but it's hard. I'm still learning about my hair.

Also, I had a question. I live in GA and its super hot. I want to change up my look for a little bit. I would like to have my hair similar to Tracee Ellis Ross'. I like her bigger curls because even if I sweat or if it gets frizzy, it won't start looking bad. The issue is, if I straighten my hair and then curl it-it will be too bone straight- plus I will sweat it out....and if I rollerset it (unless I find someone who can put my thick curly/kinky hair on a roller and make it smooth) then it will be too kinky. I was wondering, do you all think this would work if I blowdried/airdried my hair and then manual curled it with a curling iron? I still want the big hair effect. Here are examples of what I am looking for..
tracee-ellis-ross.jpg

77094.jpg

tracee-ellis-ross3.0.0.0x0.391x600.jpeg

I realize these three pics have different curl diameters. Just wanted to show that I want big hair still, but something that lasts a few days and I can put rollers in it at night or pin curl it and it still look decent.

here is my hair:
lexi-vi.jpg

TIA