Newbie in the Hooouuussse

KiniKakes

Heeeey folks! *waving*

I'm a Newbie who has been lurking since Aug 05.... yes, ya'all, I said it!!! I've been stalking you guys since August! :lol: I've been a member of a few other hair boards but I find this one to be the most knowledgeable, positive and uplifting, warm and friendly, and overall thorough.

I am so thrilled to say that I've learned sooo much about hair health, hair growth and overall proper maintenance since becoming a "lurker." :look: I started my hair regimen in August 05, upon discovering these boards. Ya'all, I just shudder to think about all the awful hair "faux pas" I was making before that time... so much damage that could have been avoided. *smh* :( However, since beginning my regimen my hair has flourished! :D

For the first time ever, in these last few months, I can actually look in the mirror and see/feel the difference.... and the Dominican ladies at my salon, who I see weekly, have noticed the difference as well.:clap: Now you KNOW that is progress when the women who would previously roll their eyes disapprovingly at me and say sternly: "Mami, you need a trim!" are now asking "Mami, what are you doing to your hair... it is getting so thick/healthy?" :p Now mind you, my hair has a looooong ways to go before it is anywhere near where I want to be.... but it is so encouraging that, since learning to take better care of my hair, I am finally seeing the fruits of my labor.

Ironically enough, I was always one of those folks who believed that "black people's hair just won't grow beyond a certain length." :ohwell: And for those whose hair did grow long, I attributed that to the fact that they were possibly bi-racial or had some "other" type of hair that wasn't naturally kinky in its un-relaxed state. *smh* :perplexed Boy, was I dead wrong!!! :lachen: