Newbie-- 4 month Lurker

mahogany_horizons

Hey guys...

I'm a newbie....a four month lurker, finally decided to get a subscription. I've learned soooo much just from lurking on these hair forums.

A little about me....always was able to grow long hair relatively easily......had relaxed hair since about 6 or 7. I think My texture is a 3C, 4A, I could be wrong.

Anyway, the reason I started lurking on the long hair care forums is this.....my mother has cared for my hair very well from the time I was a baby, until February of this year. I am 27 YEARS OLD, and live a ways from my mother, which meant that every two weeks, she would come visit my husband and I, and wash, blow dry and curl my hair, and give me a touch up around every 8 weeks or so.

No problems there. And like I said, my hair has never been above my shoulders since I remember, except when I cut it in the 7th grade to my ears.

But the reason I started lurking on this forum is this......every 4 to 5 years, I have to do a big chop, and cut like 3, to 4 inches off of my hair, because I get what my mom and I call "dead-ends".

I also have a huge dandruff problem. So I went to the derm to see what was up and found out I have serreboric dermatitus. So he gave me this shampoo to use, and I used it...problem solved.....but I couldn't wait every two weeks, SOOOO I started styling my own hair, (please keep in mind that I never washed my own hair due to issues with tangling that I never knew how to solve while it came effortlessly for my mother).

ANYWAY, I FOUND THIS SITE, and reading the forums gave me confidence to try to do things to my own hair, roller sets, pony tails, wrapping, etc, and I discovered the apple didn't falll far from the tree and I could do my own hair, and do it well, I've gotten lots of compliments....and my mother and father are so proud of me for being able to "tighten my own wig", and make it look fabulous.