Need help with shedding

MsCarmenP

Hi everybody! I've been lurking here since around April but just decided to post. At the end of April I got a relaxer and trim. The stylist used Affirm. About a week later my hair started shedding a lot (long strings with the bulb attached). I asked her about it and she said something about it being because of the switch in relaxer types. I had been using ORS in the box but hadn't had a relaxer for about 6 months before this Affirm fiasco. She told me to do a hot oil treatment. Didn't help. So I did the 2 minute Aphogee and it helped somewhat. Then a couple of weeks ago I used Alter Ego Garlic Treatment and that helped a bit but now the shedding is back.

Weirdly, it doesn't seem that my hair is getting shorter or thinner. I can't really tell though. It seems to have grown a little (or at least I have a bunch of new growth). I'm in serious need of a touch up and am thinking about switching back to ORS in the box. But don't know if that will make the problem worse or not. Any advice on what I should or shouldn't do next? How can I stop this shedding? I'm afraid I'll lose all of my hair. :nono:

OP, Welcome to the board!

Is the ORS a No-Lye relaxer? If so, I don't think your suppose to go back and forth between calcium and sodium hydroxide relaxers. I let someone borrow my Shamboosie book and it never came back. He speaks extensively about No-Lye vs Lye relaxers.

I have been reading up on different Ayurvedic herbs that are suppose to prevent hair fall/shedding. However, my only experience is with the herbs that were included in my Nupur Henna and I've only hennaed my hair once, but my setting/styling hair ball was considerably smaller. I shed something fierce.