In need of advice and help

candychild45

Ive been wearing a weave for about 2 -3 months now but for soem reason it seems to be damaging my hair.. (not too sure though). The hair dresser put three tracks into my hair and the style looks great but for some reason my hair looks so much shorter than before I first put them in. I plan on takign the weave out this weekend but Im not too sure what to do to my hair.. Im contemplating getting cornrows done for the next two weeks but am reluctant.. any advice on what i should do or what products to use for a good deep conditioning?

candychild, I'm not sure what you should do??? If it were me, I think I'd leave the weave alone for awhile and do some deep conditioning. I don't think I would do the braids either. Is there some other way you could wear your hair? If your hair is dry - use moisture. If breaking - use protein, then moisture. I think I would choose a style that wouldn't stress my hair for awhile. As far as conditioners, what do you have?

well lets ee, i have ors hair mayo and a conditioner called diez en uno... i also have castor oil whihc i use for a hot oil treatment

Good question Zoya, is your hairdresser sewing them in or using glue? I had heard that stress from the thread that binds the weave to your hair is damaging. But, I'm not sure - for the one weave I had, I used glue. But if you think it's causing damage, leave it alone. If you choose to braid - condition well first. Use the castor oil for your preshampoo treatment and then the ORS mayo to condition. The other conditioner you mentioned, I don't know what kind that is. Make sure you keep your hair moist by spraying daily with a moisturizer or a distilled water mix to keep your braids from becoming dry.

Best to you.

Ladies, any other suggestions???