Hello WEAVE-WEARERS, your help is needed......

fancypants007

I have been wearing braids on and off for about 3 years, but now i'm interested in getting a sew-in weave. I have had partial weaves in the past, but never a full one. I'm interested in getting one done primarily because it's less stress on your hair (your own hair is cornrowed and the tracks attached) and also i think it would look alot prettier on me than braids. Can you still wash and condition your hair while in the full weave? Does it cause any damage to your hair when you take it out? Any input is welcome, both positive and negative. Thanks in advance.

I trust weaves far more than braids to be honest with you. And they're simple to do, I don't have to pay anyone to put it in for me. If the cornrows aren't really bulky, then shampooing shouldn't be too much of a problem, although you will find that you can't get your scalp as clean as you would without any extensions in your hair. I personally don't apply conditioner when I'm in a weave. I may put some liquid-leave-in down there, but rarely that. I just shampoo. Garnier's shampoo is really good for me when wearing a weave because it lathers nicely and rinses clean.

Weaves have never been the cause of any damage to my hair. The only thing I will say is that if you have scalp issues with dandruff, weaves can be your nightmare.
shocked.gif
You can't shampoo as thoroughly, which can lead to dandruff build-up. The last time I wore a weave, I hadn't prepped my scalp at all. I left it in for 4 weeks, and my scalp was a mess by the time that thing came out. But I had lots of growth though.
lachen70.gif