Hello... I am a newbie and I am looking for....

daydreem2876

carpe diem
Hello all-

After going to salons off and on all my life, I find that I do a better job of taking care of the ultimate health of my relaxed hair on my own than stylists but I do go if I have special occasions ... besides that I am a babe on a budget and $40 for a wash and style is absolutely ridiculous when my hair needs to be washed every to three to four days to help with my dry scalp issues (Neutrogena's t-gel is the bestest ever!!!) I also do my own relaxers ( i dont know why when I go to the salon I feel like they are trying to set my scalp on fire and I have all kinds of burn and flakes but when I do it get none of that) ...

Currently, I am using Garnier's Length and Strength line and it has really helped grow my hair out over the spring and summer. I love it because it even keeps the new growth tame and manageable. That plus Kemi Oyl keep my hair is healthy and well conditioned. I wear a wrap or roller set and try to use very little direct heat if I can help it

But I am trying to get a jump on the winter. Exposed to constant dry heat and wearing hats ( I live in Chicago so these things are necessary evils) tends to make my hair very dry and fragile so I am looking for suggestions on maintaining my progress and any styling products that will help with breakage. My hair is very porus and aborbs whatever I put on so I have to be careful with conditioners and oils because they have a tendecy to just sit in my hair and which leads to the itchy scalp problem (its a vicious cycle) but i am working on a prepoo regimen ( I just learned about this but I do like the idea). any suggestions?