Fighting the urge to relax

Russet

Hello y'all,

So I thought i'd come out of lurk mode and get some advice. I have been transitioning for three months now with a really short haircut. I have been wearing weaves as my protective style for the time being but lately this whole not being able to get to my scalp has been getting to me. I have crazy itches which cause me to wash my hair frequently which in turn causes the weave to loosen. I thought about wigs but I haven't found one that would look realistic, and I really don't feel like paying hundreds of dollars for some virgin hair to make into one. Another things is the cost of weaves. It's really, really starting to make me want to grow my hair out while relaxing it and transition once I get to a good length where I can PS using my own hair.

What do you all think? Should I relax based on my reasons stated above? Or should I continue to transition?

Oh and I forgot to mention....

I am leaving for the U.S. Air Force next year (Spring-Summer 2011) and I really doubt i'll be able to take care of my hair being almost a year post while i'm there. I'm not sure if relaxing while still caring for my hair will be my best option.

All input welcomed

Is your hair long enough to braid? I don't think relaxing and waiting for a longer length to transition will be much fun. You will have to deal with the crazy detangling sessions and sometimes your styles will just look like hell. Are you against just BCing? If you already are comfortable with short hair, you'd probably be able to rock a TWA very well!

Is your hair long enough to braid? I don't think relaxing and waiting for a longer length to transition will be much fun. You will have to deal with the crazy detangling sessions and sometimes your styles will just look like hell. Are you against just BCing? If you already are comfortable with short hair, you'd probably be able to rock a TWA very well!