Are oils and protien needed?

Roselyn

wink.gif
I'm just beginning to become "aware" of my hair's health and needs (Plus I've been spending a bundle at the salon and not achieving length. My hair touches my shoulder, but never any longer than that). I read in "Ultra black hair growth 2000" that protien in the hair is essential to succeeding healthy hair and length. So, is protien in the oils (hot oils)? I know that they moisturize, but do they strengthen hair too? What would be a good brand to use? What would be best for hair. Any idea for a new comer?

You only need additional protein if your protein bonds have been rearranged via a relaxer or a texturizer. Or if your natural hair is breaking. Other than that, there is no need for a protein treatment.

There is no protein in hot oils. The protein can be found in a conditioner. Cathy Howse, author of UBH, only recommends her own protein conditioner but there are plenty of good ones out there. A recipe for her protein conditioner was apparently included in the first edition of her book and that recipe is on here on the Hair Recipe Board. It's basically a regular protein conditioner like Mane&Tail, Ion reconstructor, Fiberguard reconstructor mixed with olive oil, peppermint oil and coconut oil. I can't remember off the top of my head. I have made that mixture and it is a wonderful mixture.

If your hair is touching your shoulder, you may have trouble keeping your length because the hair ends are touching the shoulder and maybe breaking off. I suggest wearing your hair up until it's past shoulder length so as to preserve the ends. After that, I don't think you'll have too many problems with breakage because the ends won't really be touching anything. It will just be the inside back of the strands (if that makes any sense).

Alternate a protein conditioner into your regimen every other week. For instance, week 1 do a deep protein conditioner. Week 2, do a deep moisturizing conditioner. And so forth.