Affirm Fiberguard Lye: The Good The Bad and The Ugly!

Kurlee

My niece wants to texturize her hair with this (mild version) and I was wondering for those who use it:

• what are the pros?
  • what are the cons?
  • do you experience breakage or shedding or dryness?
  • does it thin out your hair?
Gimme the lowdown on this relaxer, the good bad and the ugly as well as suggestions!!!;)

I use this to texturize. I've been using it for a couple of years, 2-3 times per year. My hair is in much better condition than it ever was with other chemical processes I tried (dye, other relaxers).

I don't experience breakage, dryness or thinning that are related to the relaxer. My hair and skin have always been very dry. Also my hair is fine with a little thinning on top. But its was this way when I was natural too, so it's not the relaxer.

I think that the products that are to be used with the relaxer or great, especially the Sustenance Fortifying Treatment. This is the treatment you use after rinsing the relaxer but before neutralizing. Great stuff.

For what I want for my hair, the relaxer works perfectly.

Thanks for responding! Ur hair looks thick and healthy. My niece has very thick hair and its curly (4a). she wants to loosen it up for easier styling but wants to keep her hair health in tact and not lose too much of her curl pattern. Her mom isn't into hair health (bone straight hair, which she weaves and hair has been chin length for years and very thin due to damage) so my niece is looking to me to guide her.

Maybe you should look up 'silkeners' on this board. and also adding a protein too the hair, so that the relaxer wont do too much 'straightening'. good luck!

BUMPING! There has to be more than one member who uses this! Even bone straight texlaxed ladies! Help
a sista out!

Kurlee said:
BUMPING! There has to be more than one member who uses this! Even bone straight texlaxed ladies! Help
a sista out!